

2025 Chairs of Subsidiary Bodies and Penholders

COUNTRY-SITUATION OR THEMATIC MATTER	CURRENT PENHOLDER IN THE COUNCIL	CHAIR OF THE RELEVANT COUNCIL SUBSIDIARY BODY	COUNTRY-SITUATION OR THEMATIC MATTER	CURRENT PENHOLDER IN THE COUNCIL	CHAIR OF THE RELEVANT COUNCIL SUBSIDIARY BODY
Afghanistan		Asim Iftikhar Ahmad (Pakistan 2025-26) 1988 Taliban Sanctions Committee	Syria	Several member states have penned products on the Syria political track, with Russia and the US taking the lead	N/A
Armenia/Azerbaijan	France	N/A	Ukraine	on some products There are no clear penholders on Ukraine. While Slovenia and the US may	N/A
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Rotating on a monthly basis among members of the Contact and Drafting Group	N/A		be considered political co-penholders and France and Panama humanitarian co-penholders, several members have independently prepared draft texts on the	
Burundi	France	N/A		issue. Moreover, both the five European members — Denmark, France, Greece,	
Central Africa (UNOCA/LRA)	UK	N/A		Slovenia, and the UK—and Russia have been active in calling for meetings on Ukraine.	
Central African Republic	France	Amar Bendjama (Algeria; 2024-25) 2745 CAR Sanctions Committee	Yemen	UK	Joonkook Hwang (Republic of Korea; 2024-25) 2140 Yemen Sanctions Committee
Central Asia (UNRCCA)	Russia	N/A	West Africa, including the Sahel	Sierra Leone and Denmark	N/A
Colombia	UK	N/A		···•·······	.
Cyprus	UK	N/A	Western Sahara	US	N/A
Democratic Republic of the Congo	France	Michael Imran Kanu (Sierra Leone; 2024-25) 1533 DRC Sanctions Committee	Children and Armed Conflict	Greece	Evangelos Sekeris (Greece 2025-26) Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict
DPRK (Non-proliferation)	US	Evangelos Sekeris (Greece 2025-26) 1718 DPRK Sanctions Committee			
Ethiopia/Tigray	N/A	N/A	Counter-Terrorism (1267/1989/2253)	US	Christina Markus Lassen (Denmark 2025-26) 1267/1989/2253 Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant (ISIL)
Golan Heights (UNDOF)	Russia and the US	N/A			(Da'esh)/Al-Qaida Sanctions Committee
Great Lakes Region	France	N/A			
Guinea-Bissau	N/A	Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett (Guyana; 2024-25) 2048 Guinea-Bissau Committee	Counter-Terrorism (1373)	us	Amar Bendjama (Algeria; 2024-25) 1373 Counter-Terrorism Committee
Haiti	Panama and the US	Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett (Guyana; 2024-25) 2653 Haiti Sanctions Committee	Counter-Terrorism (1566)	US	Amar Bendjama (Algeria; 2024-25) 1566 Working Group
Iran (Non-proliferation)	US	N/A	International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals	Sierra Leone	Michael Imran Kanu (Sierra Leone; 2024-25) Informal Working Group on International Tribunals
Iraq	The UK on Iraq/Kuwait; the US on Iraq	Samuel Žbogar (Slovenia; 2024-25) 1518 Iraq Sanctions Committee			
Lebanon	France	Samuel Žbogar (Slovenia; 2024-25) 1636 Lebanon Sanctions Committee	Non-proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destructions (1540)	Panama	Eloy Alfaro de Alba (Panama 2025-26) 1540 Committee
Libya	UK	Abukar Dahir Osman (Somalia 2025-26) 1970 Libya Sanctions Committee	Peace and Security in Africa	N/A	Abukar Dahir Osman (Somalia 2025-26) Ad Hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and Resolution in Africa
Libya-authorisations to inspect vessels on the high seas off the coast	France and Greece	N/A	D la		
of Libya Mali	France	N/A (The 2374 Mali Sanctions Committee was terminated on	Peacekeeping	UK	Joonkook Hwang (Republic of Korea; 2024-25) Working Group on Peacekeeping Operations
		31 August 2023)	Protection of Civilians in Armed Conflict	Denmark and the UK	Denmark and the UK are co-chairs of the Informal Expert Group on Protection of Civilians
Middle East (Israel/Palestine)	Various Council members have drafted recent proposals on the issue.	N/A	Sanctions Issues (2744)	N/A	Greece and Pakistan are co-chairs of the Informal Working Group
Myanmar	UK	N/A			
Somalia	UK	Eloy Alfaro de Alba (Panama 2025-26) 2713 Al-Shabaab Sanctions Committee	Women, Peace and Security	The UK on WPS; the US on sexual violence in conflict	Sierra Leone and Denmark are co-chairs of the Informal Experts Group on Women, Peace and Security
Sudan	The UK on Sudan, the US on Sudan sanctions	Joonkook Hwang (Republic of Korea; 2024-25) 1591 Sudan Sanctions Committee	Working Methods	Denmark and Pakistan	Christina Markus Lassen (Denmark) and Asim Iftikhar Ahmad (Pakistan) are co-chairs of the Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other Procedural Questions
South Sudan	The US is the penholder on South Sudan and South Sudan sanctions	Michael Imran Kanu (Sierra Leone; 2024-25) 2206 South Sudan Sanctions Committee	Climate Change and Security	No clear penholder	Guyana (2024-25), ROK (2024-25), Panama (2025-26),
Sudan/South Sudan	US	N/A	.		and Slovenia (2024-25) are co-chairs of the Informal Expert Group